Skip to main content


The school system in the United Kingdom begins at age 5 though parents can decide to prepare their children for the education system by attending preschools as, nurseries, kindergartens or playgroups.

Children can attend preschool from Monday to Friday, most preschools are open from 7 am in the morning until 6pm in the evening to allow parents to work full time. In preschool children might learn about social interaction as well as developing their language, numerical and visual skills. The British government has created a search option to find the appropriate information associated to your location.

The University of Bath has an on campus Nursery . The nursery allocates places on the basis of the child’s position on the waiting list and availability. It should be noted that students and staff have an equal level of priority in this process. Subject to availability the Westwood Nursery offers placed on full time or part time basis appropriate to the requirements of the parent.


When moving to the United Kingdom you might need to apply for a school place for your children. The council website gives an overview on the different types of schools and a suitable place for your child.

In the England all children aged 5 to 16 must receive full-time education. Children leave primary school at age eleven and will then move into secondary education. 

Primary School

  • Year R (Reception) (age 4 – 5)
  • Year 1 (age 5 - 6)
  • Year 2 (age 6 - 7) The year when SATs testing takes place for Key Stage 1
  • Year 3 (age 7 - 8)
  • Year 4 (age 8 - 9)
  • Year 5 (age 9 - 10)
  • Year 6 (age 10 - 11) The year when SATs testing takes place for Key Stage 2

At age 11 children start secondary school. After the first two-year period, students take GSCE (General certificate of Secondary Education) state exams. The GSCE is a single subject exam and is marked by independent examination boards. Students normally take around 10 GSCE exams in different subjects. After these GSCE’s the students may choose whether to leave school or continue with your education.

Secondary school

  • Year 7 and 8 – (Age 12) Junior school 
  • Year 9 – (Age 13) Senior school
  • Year 10 and 11 (Age 15, 16) – GCSE programme
  • Year 12 and 13  (Age 17) (A level)